Importing customers from Version 2 to Version 3

Note: The options listed below do not allow for historical data or deliveries to be imported from V2. Full migration support is available upon request. Just contact your account manager for more information.

Option 1 (recommended)

To sign up for V3, simply sign up for a free 30-day trial. You will be allocated a new Company ID.
Your customer data along with tasks, task sequences and other settings will all need to be inputted manually.
You can run V3 alongside V2. It's recommended that once you have inputted all the needed data into V3 and are using it as your main PDM program that you make V2 "read-only" by removing each users permissions and deactivating any "regular deliveries" that have been set up. This will ensure that no new customer records or deliveries are added to V2 by mistake after the migration.
You will not be billed for your V2 account if no more deliveries or collections are scheduled in that account. You will be able to continue accessing it free of charge to view historical data for up to 7 years.
Pros:
+ Fresh start; gives time to consider your business needs when creating tasks, task sequences and other settings
+ For pharmacies, NHS numbers can added to customer records which makes for better reporting and search functionality (this was not an available field in V2)
Cons:
- Time needed to input customer data and settings

Option 2

To sign up for V3, you will need to sign up for a free 30-day trial. You will be allocated a new Company ID. V3 can be run alongside V2. It's recommended that once you have inputted all the needed data into V3 and are using it as your main PDM program that you make V2 "read-only" by removing each users permissions and deactivating any "regular deliveries" that have been set up. This will ensure that no new customer records or deliveries are added to V2 by mistake after the migration.
You will not be billed for your V2 account if no more deliveries or collections are scheduled in that account. You will be able to continue accessing it free of charge to view historical data for up to 7 years.

a) Export only customer data from V2 and import into V3

This is a good option for users who feel that a clean-slate approach isn't something they feel they have time for. It is recommended that a member of staff goes through the customer data to remove any duplicates as 1 customer record can belong to two or more branches (entities) and more than one address can be stored in each customer record in V3, thus eliminating the need for duplicated records.
Entities, user accounts, tasks and task sequences would still need to be created before the customer data transfer however.
Pros:
+ Quicker data transfer of customer data
Cons:
- Customer data may contain duplicate records (unless manually removed before import)
- No NHS numbers imported
- Some setup still required: entities, user accounts, tasks and task sequences to be created before the customer data transfer

b) For pharmacies: export customers from PMR system (into .csv) and import into V3 with NHS numbers.

This option for pharmacy users means that data from the PMR system they use can be exported into a .csv file and imported into V3 of PDM.
Entities, user accounts, tasks and task sequences would still need to be created before the customer data transfer however.

Pros:
+ Quicker data transfer of customer data
+ NHS numbers imported along with customer data
Cons:
- Customer data may contain duplicate records (unless manually removed before import)

Option 3 (not available yet)

This auto-migration tool, when available, will enable users to transfer all useful data sets into V3 from V2.
At the moment, there are only Options 1&2 available to V2 users, but we hope to have this option available in the future.